Kleypas, Lisa

Then Came You

The Gamblers #1

 

WARNING. This review contains spoilers.

thencameyou

Characters:

Alex, Earl of Raiford – blonde with grey eyes. Possessing a cold nature and big physique. Quite attracted to wild ladies (lol).

Lily Lawson – short dark curly hair with brown eyes. Possessing a wild nature (Pokemon?) and a slim body.

Review:

Rating: ❤❤❤❤💙

This was definitely a good read. I just had a bit of a slow start. The beginning bored me a little bit, hence the rating. I would’ve given it a five (I’m lenient with my 5s) because in the middle it gets so good, I breezed through the other half of the book. I made the mistake of reading ahead (a bad habit of mine), and I regret it immensely. I should have savored the book because I assure you, it gets better.

I wasn’t keen on Lily at first, she was far too spirited for my liking, to the point that I wonder why she does reckless things in the first place. I began to like her when Giuseppe showed her Nicole, and my maternal instincts took over. I think I shed a few tears for Lily who endured two years of loneliness because her daughter, Nicole, was taken away from her by Giuseppe Gavazzi, her ex-lover. As for our hero, Alex, I like him. I always knew that the more you hate, the more you love. He wasn’t keen on Lily at first too after having lost his fiance over a riding accident. This explains his cold nature because he was still grieving Caroline Whit-more’s loss when he and Lily met. Her wildness was anathema to him. I actually think that he tamed that wildness of hers when they got married. I also like how Alex never really did git his revenge on Lily, he was all gentleness with her. I was hoping for an accident or two, but you never do that to the one you love. I don’t even consider the bet that led to their marriage as revenge. For the side characters, my favorite would be Derek Craven, Lily’s best friend and the owner of the gambling club she frequents. This mysterious man is on the verge of falling in love with her that’s why he practically pushed her in Alex’s arms. I found it extremely sweet and unselfish. 

There are a few scenes I loved and are worth mentioning. The one where Alex won the bet and Lily had to spend the night with him. Lily could’ve said no at the very beginning, but can you blame her? She was out of options. Besides, I’d like to think that Lily wanted it too. Who wouldn’t? *wink* The next would be when Lily saved a bear named Pokey. It was an original! The last would be when they found her daughter Nicole. I cried. My least favorite part would be the one at the beginning where Lily jumps off the yacht to save her poor chapeau. It still puzzles me why she did that.

The book is not lacking on the steamy parts. This is why I love Ms. Kleypas. It wasn’t too much to make the book so offensive, but just enough to maintain the steam and the sweetness between the characters, and the interest of the reader. There was a little BDSM, but just a touch. It’s when Alex tied Lily to the bed.

The only fault that I saw in this book is the boring beginning. Other than that, this is a good read. I would definitely recommend this, especially when the next one looks promising. You can check out Goodreads for other reviews on this book.

Quote:

“I want other people to look at you and know you’re mine. I want you to take my name and my money. I want you to live with me. I want to be inside you…part of your thoughts…your body…all of you. I want you to trust me.”

Doesn’t that make you swoon?

“We were drawn to each other from the first. We were meant for each other. I think we’d have come together even if we’d been born on different continents. You feel the attraction as strongly as I do.”

How could you say no?

One thought on “Then Came You

Leave a Reply

