Kleypas, Lisa

Dreaming of You

The Gamblers #2

WARNING. This review contains spoilers.

dreamingofyou

Characters:

Derek Craven – dark hair with green eyes. He’s the owner of Craven’s Gambling Club, and described as flash gentry. His snaggled  tooth adds to his charm.

Sara Fielding – thick chestnut hair with blue eyes. A novelist, and a country bumpkin. She is well endowed… ehem… in some places.

Review:

Rating : ❤❤❤❤❤

This book is amazing! You have to read it. I have to credit the amazing author Lisa Kleypas for this novel. I literally breezed through the book. I’m just disappointed that there isn’t more. I need to read more. Haha. I saw some minor faults but it’s so good, I decided to overlook it. I’m sure this is going to my constant rereads. The pace of the story was just right.

As I have mentioned in my previous review about Then Came You (the other book in this series), I mentioned that Derek Craven is my favorite side character. Now he has his own book. He’s even better as the main hero. I love him in this book. Derek was afraid to love Sara because he thinks he’s incapable of it, he drives Sara away (so bittersweet) because of that. He did save Sara from being raped, twice! Talk about accident prone. When he did give in to her, I found him to be a doting husband. The only time I didn’t like him was when he laid with a house wench, and pretended it was Sara. If my main hero were to do that, I’d have his head. Just to let you know, our heroine is quite willing. Sara, for all the country mouse that she is, has hidden passions buried deep in her (her almost fiance actually complained about Sara’s newfound lust). She grew up an innocent until she met Derek. She becomes bold after a few days in his club.She even asks him for a kiss and allowed him some liberties. I wouldn’t blame her though. Sara was not without fault. She does all these flirting with Derek while she’s practically (not yet) engaged with Perry Kingswood. But the love between the characters prevailed and they married, even though it’s because Sara almost got raped and her reputation was at stake. Truthfully, also because Derek wants it. Need it, actually. He’s been a complete ass to his staff when Sara left, it was so bad that one of his club wenches (the one he got laid with), detoured to Sara’s home in the country just to tell him Derek’s state (inebriated and King of Ass). The side character I appreciated the most would be Worthy, Derek’s factotum. Worthy’s worth a fortune, with his loyalty and his dedication to his work.

I love the scene where Derek was following Sara when she was touring the club. Right there, I felt that they were going to be good together. That fascination with her was his downfall. I also love the scene of the masked ball. It’s where Derek and Sara was openly flirting with each other, and ehem, did things after. I like them together. One decidedly think he’s the devil himself (not really, he’s quite the philanthropist), and one an innocent with hidden depths. I love every scene where they’re together. I craved it while I was reading the book. My least favorite part was reading about Perry not defending Sara from his mother. Like, really. Have a spine, dude.

Like it’s predecessor, Dreaming of You never lacked for love scenes. One of note would be the one in the Epilogue. This is the first time I have encountered a scene like this. After putting off making love with Derek for months because she just gave birth, they finally did it. Sara was a breastfeeding mommy, just so you know. He drank the milk. It’s not disturbing, just new to me.

Now for the faults. Both out hero and heroine have betrayed each other here. Derek had laid with a house wench when he realizes he needs Sara, and can’t have her. Sara, on the other hand, was almost engaged (but not yet) to Perry and still flirted with Derek like that. I mean, I know he has his charms but she should’ve toned down her libido. But I’m glad she didn’t, because they got married in the end, and I’m one happy reader. You can check out other reviews here in  Goodreads if mine wasn’t enough (kidding).

Quote:

“You have to leave, Sara…because I want to hold you like this until your skin melts innocence. God! I want to ruin you for anyone else.”

Sigh.

“I didn’t want to give you the one last part of myself that I couldn’t take back. And then you were gone…and I realized it was already yours. It had been since the very beginning. Except that I hadn’t told you. It drove me mad, the thought that you would never know.”

You have my heart too, Derek.

Leave a Reply

