Dare, Tessa

The Scandalous, Dissolute, No-Good Mr. Wright

WARNING. This review contains spoilers.

thescandalousdissolutenogoodmrwright

Characters:

J. Harrison Wright – described as having green eyes and dark, wavy hair. He is the current heir to the Duke of Shiffield.

Elizabeth Anne Cade – described as having blue eyes and honey-gold hair. She is the youngest among the four Cade daughters.

Blurb:

Miss Eliza Cade is a lady in waiting. And waiting.

Because of a foolish mistake in her youth, she’s not allowed “out” in Society until her three older sisters are wed. But while she’s trying to be good, she keeps bumping elbows—and, more distressingly, lips—with notorious rake Harry Wright. Every moment she spends with him, she risks complete ruin.

The sensual passions he stirs in her are so wrong . . . but Eliza just can’t resist Mr. Wright.

Review:

Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

This is the first book I have read from Ms. Tessa Dare. I daresay, I’m bound to read more. I love the book! Although I was disappointed to find that it was a novella. I finished this in a day, just literally breezed through it.  I would’ve loved to see more of Harry and Elizathough. Although most of the chapters in the book had them together, there was just not enough for me. I got Pride and Prejudice vibes all over this book, what with Harry trying to save everyone, all the marriage that occurred, and Eliza’s name. I could also categorize this book as comedy. I can’t remember how many times I found myself laughing on my own because of this. This book is a comical relief as well as a sexy read.

J. Harrison Wright (I would like to know what the “J” stands for) is the hero of this novella. He is made to look like a scoundrel, but he’s actually not. He saves Eliza from ruining her reputation (or what’s left of it) by locking her in the morning room with him. She might have run into the lover he was supposed to meet there, and will assume the worst because Harry is a rake in the eyes of the society. He also saves Philippa from a disadvantageous marriage with Lord Brentley, although Eliza didn’t know that it was a disadvantageous match at the time. He saves his best friend Lord Brentley from a bad debt, shouldering it, and causing the duke to cut him off. This results to him being impoverished. Talk about heroism. I actually see Mr. Darcy in him while I was reading the book. I though he was a cad at the beginning, but as I progress through the book, my views of him completely changed. He enlists in the army so he can be a better man for Eliza to marry, now who wouldn’t have him? But I’m confused with that decision, after Georgie’s fiancee dies in the way home from the war, I’d rather think he’d be avoiding the army at all cost. But I still love his character and I thank Ms. Dare for creating him. Elizabeth Anne Cade is the heroine of this novel. Before I go to my opinion of Miss Eliza, I’d like to tell you what happened that made her father decide not to let her out of society before her sisters are married. As a teenager, Eliza had a guy best friend before that spread rumors that he groped her to make him look cool. Her father confronted her for it, and realizing that her friend will be in trouble if she told the truth, she lied and told her father the rumors are true. Her father then delayed her coming out, thinking she was prone to stuff like that, to avoid her sisters be dragged down to ruination with her. I personally think it’s not fair to her, but it won’t be fair for her sisters either. She has been caged since then. And you don’t cage wild things. There was one point where Harry called her selfish because she wanted her sister married off to Brentley just so she can have her debut. But I understand where she’s coming from. I love her selfishness in this book, sometimes we all need some self love if we’ve been sacrificing for a while. Some may berate her attitude in the book, but I found it completely human of Eliza to feel and to act like she did. So you see, both our hero and heroine had been misleading in their real characters. One was secretly a Mr. Darcy in the making, the other lied to save somebody and in actuality, is really selfless.The chemistry between the characters throughout the whole book was so legit, I was craving for more. I was disappointed when I realized I was almost finished with it. The witty banter is beyond me! Like I said before, I found myself laughing more than I could count with this book. The side character that interested me (take note, I didn’t say “like”) is Caroline Farnsworth. And I don’t get what she means, if you get what I mean. Such a silly character, our Caro is. And most hated character? Lord Brentley, for sure.

I have taken note of a few scenes that are worth sharing. If you’re to read this book, watch out for these scenes. One would be the reveal of the true character of Harry to Eliza during Alice’s baptism. It was definitely a shocker. The other would be when Eliza pretended to twist her ankles to get Harry’s attention (so he’s leave Philippa and Lord Brentley alone). And last would be when Harry gatecrashed Georgie’s wedding, thinking it was Eliza’s. Now that’s a funny scene.

Since this is a novella, there’s only one love scene and the rest are stolen kisses. Quite mild if you ask me. And also funny. There’s this one line I just need to share though

Brilliant, Harry. No kiss. No preamble. Just reach straight for the tit.

So what are the things I hated with the book? Not much really, just that it’s a novella (so short *cries*) and the fact that Harry enlisted in the army. What if he died? How will Eliza do without him? He should’ve though about that. Either way, I have enjoyed this book immensely. I hope you do too. I can’t wait to read other books by Ms. Dare. If you want to read other reviews about this book, check out the book’s Goodreads page.

Quote:

“I think you’d better make love to me again. I know we covered the toes . . . but aren’t there other parts of me you meant to suckle?”

Haha! Their conversations are gold.

“I could never love any man but you.”

“I thought to myself, any girl who makes the effort to observe snails mating is a girl I want to know.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

