Dare, Tessa

How to Catch a Wild Viscount

WARNING. This review contains spoilers.

howtocatchaviscount

Characters:

Luke Trenton, Viscount Meritt – he has brown hair and green eyes.

Cecily Hale – she has flaxen hair and blue eyes.

Blurb:

Luke Trenton, Viscount Merritt, returned from war a changed man. Battle stripped away his civility and brought out his inner beast. There is no charm or tenderness in him now; only dark passions and a hardened soul. He has nothing to offer the starry-eyed, innocent girl who pledged her heart to him four years ago.

But Cecily Hale isn’t a girl any longer. She’s grown into a woman–one who won’t be pushed away. She and Luke are guests at a house party when a local legend captures their friends’ imaginations. While the others plunge into the forest on a wild goose…er, stag chase, Cecily’s on the hunt for a man. She has only a few moonlit nights to reach the real Luke…the wounded heart she knows still beats inside the war-ravaged body…or she could lose him to the darkness forever.

Review:

Rating: ❤❤❤❤💙

This book is pretty short, I warn you. I’m not even sure I can give something substantial today. Kidding. Anyways, this is Ms. Dare’s first book, and I must say well done! I finished this in a few hours (that’s how short it is), but nonetheless, this is a good read to pass the the time, or if you feel like reading a book that tugs at your heart. This book is such a bittersweet read. I felt heartaches maybe twice or thrice. Which is a good thing, for me. I’m a sucker for those. I could’ve given this a five, my only issue is the hero of the novel. I will expand further in my next paragraph.

The hero of this book is Luke, Viscount Meritt. I am torn with this guy. I’m still not sure if I like him or not. He is one of the most indecisive character I have read. He tells Cecy he can’t love her because he’s a changed man and yet he doesn’t want her to let him go. Like, selfish much? He told her to marry another but pleasures her so she can have comparison. What a cad! As for Cecily Hale, I have nothing but respect for her. To wait for someone without the assurance of a love returned is brave, IMHO. Now my favorite side characters would be Portia and Brooke. These two saved the book for me! They’re quite comical and sweet at the same time.

My favorite scene would be when Brooke was comforting Portia when she had an accident in the woods. I suggest you look forward to this one! The next one would be when Cecily was seducing Luke in the cabin. Nothing like a good bit of seduction to start what’s already there.

For the love scene, there was only one. I did expect this though, this book being a novella. So if you’re looking for something with heat, this book is not for you.

Al in all, for a novella, it was a good read. If you’re stuck in traffic, or waiting in a long queue, this would do. I congratulate Ms. Dare on her first book, it was well written. For more info on this book, here’s the Goodreads page.

Quotes:

“Very well. To you, I gratefully surrender.”

 

P.S.

I have accidentally deleted the copy of my review for this book that’s why my review was quite hastened. I didn’t leave out anything important though, I think. And my calligraphy for this is missing a word, “wild”. /fail I’m so lazy to make one again though. Forgive me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

